Final Blog Post

Final Blog Post

What I hoped to get out of ComStrat 383 was to gain a deeper insight into practices in public relations and to enhance my skills in public relations. I am a public relations major so I was actually looking forward to taking this class because it directly relates to my major. I feel that this course will directly correlate to the practices I will be doing in my job once I graduate. What I learned that I hoped to learn was skills that translate to the real world. For example, I enjoyed doing the communications plan for Colectivo Coffee because that took things that we learned and put it into a real world context. I now feel that I can effectively run a well-executed communications plan for a company in the future.

What I learned that I didn’t expect to learn was the personal brand strategy. Coming into this class I thought public relations was basically all centered around your client and nothing else. I learned that to be successful, you should also develop and refine your own personal brand so that you will be desirable in the working world. What I want to more know about knowing what I know now is how to run effective communications plans. Like I said earlier my favorite part of this class was the Colectivo Coffee project. Running a communications plan for a business in the real world was very enjoyable because it will translate after I graduate. I would love to do something like that again in the future.

Where I found inspiration and gained insight was honestly from myself. Since I am a public relations major I feel that it is very important that I learn and master the things that I have been taught in this class. If I didn’t give this class all my effort I would be wasting my time and money. I was motivated to do very well in the class because I enjoyed it and I want to be able to impress my potential employers when the time comes.

Since I enjoyed doing the Colectivo Coffee assignment so much here is a link to their website (  http://colectivocoffee.com/) and an example from part of the work I did in the communications plan for Colectivo assignment.

Loyalty

  • Deals specifically catered to target audience (College Students)
  • Appeal to wallet
  • Moderately priced coffee compared to nearest competitors
  • Students at University of Wisconsin can purchase a student monthly pass for $30 where they can get 1 cup of coffee each day. Prices for monthly pass could vary by the size of your coffee.
  • Offer $1 cups of coffee on Badger football game days before 10 A.M.
  • Partner with the University of Wisconsin
    • Partner with UW by offering a free small cup of coffee for all people in attendance whenever the men’s basketball team scores over 80 points.
    • Do the same promotions with football accept whenever the team scores over 42 points in games against a divisional opponent in the Big 10 they will receive a free small cup of coffee.
  • Include beer-
    • Offer happy hour on game days before the games for Badgers men’s basketball and football games.
    • Sell custom kegs with the Wisconsin Badger logo on them.
    • Offer discounts on all beers sales at 10% off after all Badger football victories.
  • Measuring Success
    • The amount of younger people coming into the store
    • Amount of new followers on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram
    • The ability to achieve a partnership with the University of Wisconsin
    • The ability to achieve licensing rights to show the badger logo on their flyers.

Leave a comment